Rainy Day Recipes–Autumn Apple Bread

Rainy Day Recipes–Autumn Apple Bread

 

I originally got this recipe from The Heart of New England Website here:

http://www.theheartofnewengland.com/food-AppleCake.html

 

As many of you know, I am a New Englander and so I love to recreate baked goods from where I grew up. I recently made this recipe originally titled Apple Coffee Cake, and made a few adjustments. I also think that it is more like bread than cake, but it could go either way.

Here is my adventure 🙂

  1. Cut and dice up four Granny Smith apples, and then mix with a bit of cinnamon. apple bread 1
  2. In a bowl, mix three cups of flour, one tablespoon of baking soda, a half tablespoon of salt,  and one cup of sugar. Sift and set aside. 
  3. In a separate bowl, combine two eggs, a cup and a half of cinnamon applesauce, and two teaspoons of vanilla. Wisk and set aside. apple bread 3
  4. Now combine diced apples and cinnamon with your bowl of combined dry ingredients. apple bread 2
  5. Next, combine this with the mixture of eggs, applesauce, and vanilla. Stir until thoroughly mixed. apple bread 4
  6. Next, put into a bread loaf or cake pan (remember that this recipe could go either way.) 🙂
  7. Put your apple bread or cake in the oven at 350  degrees for 1 hour.  Apples should be moist and delicious! To keep moist after baking, cover or wrap with foil. apple bread 6

 

The Paperback Writer of Central Park, A Review by Daniel Bauldwin

The Paperback Writers Group

BookCoverImage
Book: The Paperback Writer of Central Park by Stella Brians
Review by Daniel Bauldwin

I had the great luck of meeting this author online and as such was given a copy to review. My first impressions were pretty good. Chapter 2 Hooked me by being relatable to me personally. As I read on I noticed some of the characters seemed to have very similar back stories, but they are all unique from one another. I also noticed, very quickly, that this book is extremely descriptive; describing almost everything in a fantastic way that makes it simple to imagine anything that happens.
The book focuses mostly on the young Elizabeth and her journey from writer, to indie author, to so much more as her heart goes through an equally difficult and spiritual journey.
The book itself really blurs the line between fantasy and non-fiction as a result (before picking a side)…

View original post 37 more words

On “A Place I’ll Always Go,” Palehound’s Ellen Kempner Becomes Her Own Hero

Amazing band, I just pre-ordered their cassette tape :3 I am from CT like Ellen, and listening to their music reminds me of where I grew up. Thank you for bringing that back to me 🙂

Bandcamp Daily

Palehound Photo by Shervin Lainez.

It’s funny that Palehound frontwoman Ellen Kempner has asked to meet for our interview in midtown Manhattan—an uninteresting business sector with chain restaurants, department stores, and high-rise office buildings—because the neighborhood is impersonal. It is very much at odds with the kind of music Kempner makes. Her first LP, 2015’s Dry Food, was not so much a breakup record as it was a record fascinated with the space created after a breakup—the pain that comes from an unfamiliar loneliness. Her strength lies in the way she’s able to paint intimate vignettes from moments in her own life. Her sophomore LP, A Place I’ll Always Go, is much warmer, but it’s still shot through with an undercurrent of loss.

View original post 1,053 more words

Roadside by Angie Dokos, a Book Review

Roadside by Angie Dokos, a Book Review

by Stella Brians

35094416

Ms. Dokos was kind enough to send me a copy of her book for an honest, and well thought out review.

Roadside is a romantic novel about a young woman who is assaulted and left for dead in the woods. She is then discovered by Levi, a detective, and his son Zayne. Her name is Serena, and she is a college student who works at a convenience store. Serena managed to  fight off her attacker (who is later identified) and crawl to the edge of the road where she is found and rescued.

What I liked about Roadside was  the packaging; the cover was simple and cute, and it remained tasteful in that aspect, while other romance novels tend to show naked people clinging to each other in some kind of ridiculous embrace.

Roadside was different. The  lovable macaroni and cheese orange font, complete with heart and a calming photo of a nice road surrounded by trees was a refreshing change. Another thing I liked was that the novel kept you interested in the characters, Serena’s recovery, the discovery of her attacker, and her relationship with Zayne. These four factors lead the plot until the end, which is a very positive thing.

What I did not like about the story was the writing style, because it felt a bit rushed and that it needed more work. I wish that the characters were older, and not college aged because they seem a bit immature and silly and that took away from the story for me. The last thing I did not like was the constant mention of religious elements, and how it seemed to control how the characters acted and what they did. I am also not a fan of novels that take place in the South, but that is a personal preference and should not impact future readers views of this book.

Overall, Roadside is a great book for young people, and Ms. Dokos did a remarkable job engaging the reader throughout the book.

To Purchase Roadside:

 

Balloon Man Book Review

Balloon Man

by Frances Laskowski

Book Review

by Stella Brians

51d2by6s6wtl-_sx326_bo1204203200_

 Horror has always been one of my favorite genres, so I was excited to read Balloon Man by Frances Laskowski. Set in Louisiana in present day, Laskowski tells the story of multiple people who together are all a part of Cooter’s (Balloon Man) story as a torturer and killer. She also tells the tales of all who are affected by him, and how they are able to survive and live a more positive life after Balloon Man puts them through the wringer. He is a filthy low life who hangs around a massive alligator known as Pyrrain, and kidnaps children by enchanting them with colorful balloons. I really enjoyed Balloon Man because in the ways of the women’s torture and survival it reminded me of my beloved V.C. Andrews. Laskowski has her own way of leading one chapter into the next, so that you are excited to make your way through the story. I can say that this is a great book for any time of the year. It would make a great beach read, a story for Halloween, or something to take with you on a long train ride! I look forward to reading more of Laskowski’s work. Something really unique to the Balloon Man novel, is that Frances wrote a song for the story.

You can listen to it here: 

To Purchase Balloon Man for Kindle, Paperback, or as an Audiobook:

The (Unofficial) Soundtrack of The Paperback Writer of Central Park

Check out my Unofficial Soundtrack for The Paperback Writer of Central Park. 🙂

The Paperback Writers Group

The (Unofficial) Soundtrack of The Paperback Writer of Central Park

Created and listened to thoroughly by Stella Brians

When writing I have a very poetic film approach. I envision what my world, characters, and their surroundings look and feel like. Hopefully this soundtrack gives you insight to the lost era I was born into, where The Paperback Writer of Central Park takes place. As you read this book, try to envision these songs alongside River, Elizabeth and Sarah’s adventures. Sarah is seen in Book Three, while River and Elizabeth make appearances in each book. From Book Four on, I will be refocusing the series on River and Elizabeth.

Listen to the music, enjoy, and reminiscence about when life was beautiful and simple.

Thank you for stopping by!

pexels-photo-299836

  1. Everyday is Like Sunday-Morrissey

2.   No More Lonely Nights–Paul McCartney

3. Tango in The Night–Fleetwood Mac

4. Anarchy in The UK–Sex Pistols 

View original post 69 more words

Important Hidden World of Wysteria Series Announcement!

pbw watermark

Readers and Fans of The Hidden World of Wysteria Series, I have a special announcement!

River and Elizabeth will return as the main characters in the fourth book (and  very likely in  the other books as well!)

River is one of my favorite characters, and I wanted to write more about he and Elizabeth. I think that the series should focus more on them, now that we have explored other characters and areas of Wysteria. I have really enjoyed writing about Milo and Rowan (Book Two) and the Edgar and Aleka (Book Three) but I feel there is something missing. I have put something speacial into each of my characters–Milo has a kind and creative heart, Rowan, a wise soul. You will find Edgar and Aleka to be unique and fun, and I think many will find comfort in their identities.

However–

River and Elizabeth are each a part of me, in personality, insight, and eccentricity. It is time to revisit them.

I am still working on the third book–Beneath Rain and Stars, and it will take a while for it to be finished. I estimate it to be longer than Wysteria. What I like about it, is how at peace it makes me feel. It reminds me of home, and it has so much to do with my love of the Earth. If you love the Earth as I do, or are an introverted person who loves afternoon walks in the rain, Beneath Rain and Stars is for you.

I really look forward to its release, and to starting work on the fourth book in The Hidden World of Wysteria Series. I have some exciting things planned for the fourth, and even a working title.

Thank you to those who read and buy my books. My writing and artwork is in many ways my life force, and through it I share so many things of myself. Thank you for sharing this with me.

To Check out Stella’s Hidden World of Wysteria Series:

https://www.amazon.com/Stella-Brians/e/B01N3MEQ3Y