The Paperback Writer Interviews Poet Christopher Allen Breidinger

The Paperback Writer Interviews Poet Christopher Allen Breidinger

poet-christopher1

Please begin by telling me about your poetry, and the spiritual messages that you convey through your writing.
My poetry is deep and thought provoking. I write from the heart and when tuned into the depth of my spirit. This gives me the ability to align with my own truth and the soul of the universe, often in a most profound way. I am an adept user of the metaphor but I generally try to convey a sense of unity, peace and loving all of life. However, I can also be scathing with my truths.
As a young person, you stayed in a children’s home and had a rather troubled beginning. How do these experiences make their way into your poetry? Please feel free to share a poem with us that tells a personal story about your life as a youth.
Those experiences are forever part of who I am and are incorporated into my writing in many ways, mostly subtle, though, I have written poems that talk directly to the subject, as well. One of those would be “Criminal Love Story” which is a poem from my first book, Scenes, Dreams and Golden Schemes, that describes a period of my life when I was 18 years old and had a relationship with a nurse I had met while being evaluated at a mental institution.
What was the most difficult and life changing event of your life, and how did you overcome in it a creative way?
My entire life seems to be an ever changing, difficult event and I am constantly struggling to overcome the rigid societal standards that stunt the growth of my creativity.
Like myself, you do not believe in a deity but in the power of the Universe. What spiritual messages do you share with others through your poetry? (Please feel free to elaborate on your beliefs and anything else
 
I do not believe in the traditional beliefs that have been perpetuated, mostly violently, for centuries. I do believe in energy and vibrations. I can see and feel the power of the Sun. Every day is followed by night and vice versa and has been that way my entire life. Those are forces that I believe in. We have figured out many ways to manipulate them to our benefits and demises. If I were to claim any label, I would call myself agnostic, though, I believe labels to be very primitive and limited as a description for a vastly complex living being such as the human mind.
poetchristopher4
Tell me about each of your books, and what inspired you to write them?
I am an author of three books, Scenes,Dreams and Golden-SchemesMyths, Methods and Golden-Messages and Truths, Treasures and Golden-Pleasures I also have a fourth one nearly ready to be published called Divine Business. I have been writing for most of my life and I have always had aspirations to be published. Life and other endeavors put my writing on the back burner until a few years ago and then, I began writing again. I entered a poetry contest and I won a 5 year publishing contract with Creative Talents Unleashed and soon after my first book was published. I have taken to calling the first three books a poetic trilogy called “The Golden Series” mainly because Golden is in all the titles and they relate to an awakening of my spirit and the growth of my being.
poetchristopher2
Where do you go to write and be creative?
I am usually sitting at my desk, typing on a keyboard, in my room. However, I can be inspired to write something at any time and any place.
What are you reading right now?
I am reading “The Spiritual Notebook” by Paul Twitchell
Do you write fiction, or do you plan to in the future?
I have written fiction in the past but not recently. I do have several ideas for novels that I would love to get written eventually.
Are you able to work full time as a writer, or do you have another job as well?
 I am not able to be a full-time writer, as of yet. I would certainly love to find a way to do that and I am constantly searching for opportunities to achieve that level.
Please tell me about the town you grew up in and what made it special to you? Home for me will always be Connecticut, and I think that where we are from takes a large part in molding us as people.
We bounced around a lot when I was growing up, but for me, Atwood, Indiana will always be where I identify as where I am from. Living on the lake and spending my time fishing and swimming in summer, ice skating and snowmobiling in the winter, burning leaves in the fall and watching life bloom in the spring, will always hold my heart.
What season or time of year do you feel most creative?
I think Fall is my most creative time of year, but creativity can happen anytime.
Do you have any advice for your fellow writers?
My favorite thing to say is “Write On!” Just keep writing and striving for what you desire to be!
Finally, is there anything else you would like to tell The Paperback Writer?
I would like to thank you for having me for this interview and I encourage you to keep up the excellent work you are doing for the writing community!
Thank you very much, Christopher. It was wonderful to have you! I love the messages you write about, they are so very important on both a spiritual and Earth-conscious level.
poetchristopher3

 Selected Poems by Christopher

copyscape

Whispers to Screams

I tilt my head and tune into the stream,
Listening for whispers of words.
I might catch a melody upon a dream,
Or a chorus of nouns and verbs.
I may find the harmony in the seam
Where the poet in me is stirred.
Then the whispers transform to screams
And the paper accepts what is heard.

Against the Grain

I might never talk again
Except through this pen
Where my voice extends
Beyond the fringe
Of who I’ve been
And where I begin.
These are not my lines,
They are my veins,
And this ink is my blood
Circulating the strain
That sustains my heart
But fills my brain
With the need to go
Against the grain.

Mentally Undressed

I found this pad of paper
And pen, here on my desk,
Like they were waiting for me
To get mentally undressed.
I sat down and wrote a poem
One million stanzas long.
To some it reads like a fairy tale,
To others it sings a song.

To purchase Christopher’s poetry books, please follow the links below:

Scenes, Dreams, and Golden Schemes

https://www.amazon.com/Christophers-Scenes-Dreams-Golden-Schemes/dp/0996147616/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1477357569&sr=8-1&keywords=christopher+allen+breidinger

Myths, Methods, and Golden Messages

https://www.amazon.com/Christophers-Myths-Methods-Golden-Messages/dp/0996147683/ref=sr_1_5?ie=UTF8&qid=1477357569&sr=8-5&keywords=christopher+allen+breidinger

Truths, Treasures, and Golden Pleasures

https://www.amazon.com/Christophers-Truths-Treasures-Golden-Pleasures/dp/0996829296/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&qid=1477357569&sr=8-2&keywords=christopher+allen+breidinger

Leave a Reply

