The Paperback Writer Interviews Horror Writer, C.V. Hunt

The Paperback Writer Interviews Horror Author,

C.V. Hunt

 

unnamed

 

unnamed-3

 

I have followed you for awhile on Goodreads, because your books always looked like something I would enjoy. I still have yet to read one. Please tell me about your work; what you write about, your most predominant themes, and what inspires you?

My writing varies from book to book. I like to take on a new challenge every time I start something to break up the monotony. Mostly I write dark fantasy, absurd/surreal fiction, and extreme horror. The stories are heavy-handed with social commentary and the decline of personal relationships and are influenced by my obsession of the Theory of Mind and my love of writing first person. My inspiration comes from a multitude of sources: music, movies, personal experiences, etc.

What brought about you wanting to write? Were you formally taught at a University how to write, or have you always had a knack for it?

In 2009 my mother was diagnosed with terminal cancer. It made me take stock of what I had and hadn’t accomplished in my life. I was thirty at the time. I don’t have children. And I felt like I hadn’t done much with my life and didn’t have a legacy if I happened to dropped dead.

I’m a big reader and thought I would take a crack at writing a book as a small life goal. I never planned on publishing when I first started. I was ignorant about how it actually happened and had romanticized ideas of how it worked. I thought you typed up your manuscript, wrapped it in brown paper, and mailed it to a large publishing house. And I figured no one would be interested because I don’t have a degree other than a high school diploma and have never taken any classes on writing.

You manage Grindhouse Press, the imprint of Atlatl Press. That is inspiring to me, as doing something like that has always crossed my mind. Please describe a day in the life of running the press, and any pertinent information for other indies who would be interested in investing the time and money into starting or maintaining an indie press.

unnamed-4

At the moment I’m not taking any submissions so its quiet. Every couple of days I receive an inquiry from an author asking for more information about submissions and when exactly I plan on opening to them. I periodically receive messages from current Grindhouse authors because I keep an event page updated on the site for when any of them attend a convention, do a reading, are on a panel, run a promotion or giveaway, or are part of a workshop. Royalties are paid monthly.

When Grindhouse is open to submissions I imagine inquiries will double. I’ll have to read through submissions and find books that fit the Grindhouse theme. Once a book is accepted its a miraid of things: sending acceptances, contracts, editing, possibly negotiating titles and cover expectations with the author, sending the book to a proofreader, exploring ideas with a cover artist, and paying everyone involved (author, editor, proofreader, cover artist).

It’s a lot of busy work. Especially if you have a daytime job and write yourself.

Is writing your full time job, or do you have an additional day job?

I do have a full time job.

What is your favorite book that you have written, and why?

unnamed-2

Ritualistic Human Sacrifice. It’s my favorite because I explored my love of horror and experimented with trying to keep a book slightly plausible. The horror of reality can be worse than anything imagined.

Please tell us about your latest book.

unnamed-1

My forthcoming book from Atlatl Press will be available November 1st and is titled We Did Everything Wrong. Here is the description:

Abraham Koyfman is a widower of nine months. He works from home selling subliminal self-help tapes for a questionable doctor he found in an ad in the back of a magazine. His meager retirement is enough now that he’s alone and Abraham is ready to quit his job—a task proving to be difficult due to the company’s tactics. The combination of grief and the lack of empathy from his adult children have him ready to quit life, also. On the day he reaches the breaking point, his friend Horace pays an unexpected visit with his new girlfriend. Horace’s remedy for Abraham’s plight is to party hard, act juvenile, and take a road trip to confront the doctor in charge of the work from home scam. But will an insufferable friend, a bad case of misanthropy, and the absurdity of modern technology and its sociocultural impact make Abraham’s situation better?

How has becoming an author changed your life, and what advice would you give to an aspiring writer who is struggling?

I’ve met a lot of writers over the years and it’s great keeping in contact and sharing whatever knowledge we pick up along the way with one another.

The biggest piece of advice I can give is to keep writing. Don’t give up.

Which one of your books do you recommend someone reads first?

Baby Hater.

Do you have a favorite book, and why is it your favorite? Has anything you read at an early age factored into the content or style of your work?

Wetlands by Charlotte Roche. I love it because it a mix of potty humor and a coming-of-age story for girls. It also has a slightly sleazy grindhouse feel to it. The movie is great too.

I used to read a lot of Anne Rice as a teenager but I would say our writing styles are completely different. I’ve always read all different kinds of genres and I think that has helped me to find my own voice. I think I was influenced more by being introduced to horror movies when I was eight years old.

 

Links to purchase C.V. Hunt’s books are down below, as the Grindhouse Press website.

Grindhouse Press
POB 293161
Dayton OH 45429

 

Leave a Reply

