The Paperback Writer Visits a Place Of Novel Inspiration–a Castle

The Paperback Writer goes to visit the castle of Loveland Ohio, built by one man over the span of his lifetime. The man’s name was Sir Harry, and he died in 1981 at the age of 91.

763

Here is Harry’s Castle.

786

783

822

769

Walking through the castle, it is evident that this was a very sentimental place to Harry, his knights, and their friends. There are photographs and works of art that I assume were done for Harry and his castle.

828

767

The castle was very dark inside, so please excuse the dark photographs.

755

There are countless photos of friends and events. In the photographs below, there are people dressed in medieval garb.

744

754

This painting I liked in particular, very abstract and beautiful.

829

Throughout the castle there are several suits of armor.

761

760

820

814

784

More photographs on the exterior of the castle.

823

One of my favorite things about the castle is the sea monster that is hiding in the garden.

770

At least he has a gargoyle friend 🙂

833

This was Harry’s bedroom. All of the residential type rooms were incredibly small and barred off. His room had a domed ceiling, also made of stone.

800

797

Behind the castle there are more gardens. Clint and I did not go up  to investigate, but we plan to return when in it cooler and not so hot.

Sir Harry’s castle is a beautiful and enchanting place. There is much to explore, including a small dungeon. When you walk into the entrance, a knight behind the desk will be there to greet you and to give you some background information on Harry and his castle. Admission is five dollars for adults, and three dollars for children. People are able to rent the castle after 5pm for events. I have a future event in mind that I would love to have at this castle, preferably in autumn.

Summer is beginning to wind down for all of us, and I am thankful for that. Autumn will be here in less than a month, followed by Halloween. I hope that all of you are writing, and continuing your journey as authors. Sir. Harry’s life journey was to build this castle, and mine is to express myself and the many ideas I have through my books. I think that as a writer it is important to travel and to visit places that inspire you; whether it be a castle, a park, or an abandoned building. Above all, be safe and use caution wherever you go. Harry’s castle inspired me, and I hope that it inspired you as well.

Below is the castle’s website, in case you are interested in further research or want to plan a visit or event.

http://www.lovelandcastle.com/

 

 

4 comments

  1. Nolo · August 27, 2016

    I much enjoyed the tour– and find myself a bit envious–always wanted to live in a castle!

    Liked by 1 person

    • The Paperback Writer · August 27, 2016

      I’m so glad that you liked the tour! 🙂 This castle was wonderously cool and inspiring! We will talk soon of the castle and I shall tell you more about it.

      Like

  2. Kathryn Hughes · August 27, 2016

    This was so cool! Didn’t know about this before. What an interesting place. Thanks for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

    • The Paperback Writer · August 28, 2016

      You are so welcome, and I’m glad you found it interesting. Castles are fascinating places! 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

