An Old Man Gives Birth, a poem by Nolo Segundo

AN OLD MAN GIVES BIRTH

by Nolo Segundo

They come of their own accord—

They cannot be forced,

And will not yield to demands,

Entreaties, not even begging.

Why I ask, after waking up

After a 35 year long nap

Did the poems again begin

Dancing merrily in my old,

Old head? I might as well

Ask why I am alive, or why

God likes to hide his face.

Old man that I am,

I am happy when I

Give birth to them,

Each near perfect

In my eyes, lovely

To behold, a joy

I want to share with

A very busy and very,

Very confused world.

Forgive me, please,

My parental pride.

Leave a Reply

